

Bishop D. L. Lindsey, Prelate Emeritus

## A BRIEF HISTORY OF THE ARKANSAS SECOND ECCLESIASTICAL JURISDICTION CHURCH OF GOD IN CHRIST, INC.

+

(1950 to Present)

Written, updated and presented to the Office of the General Secretary by

## BISHOP ROBERT G. RUDOLPH, JR.

Executive Administrative Assistant and Jurisdictional Secretary - Arkansas Second Jurisdiction

Assistant General Secretary / Archives - Church Of God In Christ, Inc.

In 1950, Bishop Minor Jones was the leader of the entire state of Arkansas. Under his leadership the state was divided in the same year. His action allowed six districts to be formed from this division creating the "Southwest Arkansas" Jurisdiction of the Church of God in Christ, which is today known as the Arkansas Second Ecclesiastical Jurisdiction.

In 1951, **Bishop W. A. Washington**, was appointed as the first Bishop of the divided state, serving only for one day. **Bishop W. H. Kendricks** was then appointed to serve from, 1951 to 1957. The next jurisdictional leader was **Bishop John L. Lewis**, who served from 1958 to 1968. Under his leadership, the State Temple was purchased and it was to his sacred memory that the temple was named Lewis Temple.

1968, In Bishop В. Hatley was appointed Bishop Lewis' R. as successor. It was during his dynamic leadership that the State Temple was freed of debt. After having done such a wonderful job as the leader, his service to the jurisdiction ended in 1974. Bishop Donne L. Lindsey, who was appointed in 1974 and was consecrated to the Office of Bishop by Presiding Bishop J. O. Patterson, Sr., and members of the General Board came to Camden, Arkansas to hold the ceremony at the jurisdictional headquarters, Lewis Temple. Under Bishop Lindsey's leadership, the Jurisdiction initially grew from eight districts to fifteen districts. In 1993, upon the leading of the Lord, Bishop Lindsey, with permission of the Presiding Bishop L. H. Ford and the General Board, was able to divide the Jurisdiction to promote growth. It

## 610 J. W. Harrison Street • Malvern, Arkansas 72104

resulted in the formation of the Arkansas Third Jurisdiction, with Bishop R. E. Matheney being appointed as the jurisdictional prelate. In the year 2000, the Jurisdiction was divided again to form the Arkansas Fourth Jurisdiction with Bishop Wallace Johnson being appointed as the jurisdictional prelate. He completed his tenure as Jurisdictional leader in 2009 and asked to be formally retired as the jurisdictional prelate. Upon this request, Bishop Lindsey became the Prelate Emeritus of the Jurisdiction.

On August 8, 2009, Presiding Bishop Charles E. Blake, came to ascertain of the pastors who they wanted as the next jurisdictional prelate. A recommendation session was held and upon the recommendation of the majority of the pastors, **the name of Frank J. Anderson, Jr., was given to the Presiding Bishop and recommended to the General Board. At the Bishop's Conference in September, 2009, Bishop Blake formally put Elder Anderson's name in nomination and in November, 2009, Bishop Frank J. Anderson, Jr.,** was consecrated to the Office of Bishop during the International Holy Convocation held in Memphis, Tennessee. The General Assembly ratified the appointment and Bishop Anderson became the sixth prelate of the Arkansas Second Ecclesiastical Jurisdiction. In the short tenure of Bishop Anderson, churches have come to join the jurisdiction. After being divided two times, the jurisdiction has twenty-one districts and over 90 churches and missions.